Chicago Part 2: The Move In

Considering that I had no money to fly out to Evanston and check out apartments, I decided that going into university-owned grad housing was safer. I knew that it would be clean and that if I needed anything repaired, they’d do it in a timely manner. Yes, it’s expensive (it comes out to roughly $1400 a month), but the price does include all utilities, internet, and cable. So not too bad, honestly.

Besides, I read reviews for the ones offering $700 a month, and I heard horror stories about rats and stuff. SO NOT dealing with that.

Anyway, when we got to my apartment building, the check-in was relatively painless. I had to call the on-duty person, since it was a Saturday and the office wasn’t open. He was nice, but he failed to mention that the building had two carts in the basement for help with moving in and large grocery ones. That REALLY would have helped for the first two trips. Thankfully, the third time we got downstairs there was a girl from New York who pointed us in the right direction. That cut down on moving time, which was great, because we were all exhausted from the drive.

I have to admit that I was disappointed by the apartment. I guess I expected less dorm-living and that is definitely not what this is. Very uncomfortable (and ugly) furniture, a shower stall barely big enough for a normal-sized person (thankfully, I’m small), and the smallest kitchen I’ve ever seen in my life. Seriously, vacation resorts give you bigger kitchens than what I have. And I’m not sure what the architects were thinking, (they weren’t) because this place has low ceilings and impossibly high cupboards. I have moved one of my kitchen chairs into the kitchen so I can reach my food and things. It takes up about half my “kitchen,” but the convenience is worth it, I think.

Shower

The shower. Look at how much room my very few things take up!

Kitchen

The tiny kitchen. I am short, so the chair that takes up half of it is very necessary. For a reference, I can reach the microwave on my tiptoes. Those cabinets? Yeah, so not happening without some help.

Counter Space

This is all the counter space I have. Note: a 2-slice toaster, a coffee pot, and a stack of filters = full counter!

Living room

The ugliest match-up I have ever seen in my life. The blanket is there, because even yarn is more comfortable than whatever weird material makes up the couch.

My TV

The beautiful TV, TV cart, and DVD player my parents so nicely bought me. (Actually, they bought me a lot of things, but this is by far the coolest.) My mom put the stand together, and my dad hooked up the TV. If I didn’t mind the effort, I could actually hook up my computer to this thing.

I will not show the bedroom because it already has clothes everywhere. I would say that this problem could be helped by more drawer space, but I also had this problem at home and in Long Beach. So yeah, it’s an average bedroom. Queen-sized bed, which is WAY nice. Especially since I use about half of it to store some of my clothes. Also, while the couches suck, the bed is actually decent. I would even say it’s a step up from hotel beds.

So, there you go. My apartment. I’ve grown used to it, and even though its ugliness was kind of hard to deal with at first, I like it. It’s nice having my own place. And I’m actually becoming kind of a hermit, so hopefully going to class and meeting people in group projects *groan* will remedy that. I do want to explore the city, after all. And having fun doing that is a little hard to do without friends of some sort.

2 thoughts on “Chicago Part 2: The Move In

Leave a Reply

